Your Guide to Becoming a Notary Public and Notary Exams

YOU ARE HERE: » Home » Notary Exam » District of Columbia (change)

Notary Exam: District of Columbia State Information

It is very important that you are prepared to perform your duties as a notary in accordance with the law so that you are both a competent notary public as well as acting within the law. In order to ensure that you are ready to begin your notary business, many states require that you take a notary class where you will learn about how to perform notorial duties, and that you take a notary exam or notary test to show that you fully understand the laws and requirements. Whether or not your state requires a notary exam or notary class, it is recommended that you take a notary course and practice notary exam. Learn about your specific state requirements for notary tests and notary classes below.

Becoming a Notary in District of Columbia and District of Columbia's Notary Exam Requirements

Notary Exam in District of Columbia

Washington D.C. Notary Class Requirements

In Washington D.C., you are not required by law to take a notary class, although this is highly recommended to ensure you are operating within the law and completely understand the criteria and liability of your role. You are financially liable for all the documents that you authorize which means it is incredibly important that you fully understand the ins and outs of your role, as well as all the legal requirements. Also, you will have to pass an oral exam so you want to make sure you are fully prepared to pass.

Washington D.C. Notary Exam

In Washington D.C. you are required to pass an oral notary test about the general laws and requirements of a notary public.